Rainbow Six Siege Year 8 Season 4: Operation Deep Freeze – All you need to know cover image

Rainbow Six Siege Year 8 Season 4: Operation Deep Freeze – All you need to know

The final season of Year 8 is upon us.

It’s the final season of Rainbow Six Siege Year 8 and it has the community hyped with excitement. There’s a lot promised in the new update - Operation Deep Freeze - including a new operator, a brand new map balances and more. Here’s everything you need to know about the new update and this article will be updated the represent the latest information.

When does Rainbow Six Siege Year 8 Season 4 start?

Rainbow Six Siege Year 8 Season 4 kicks off on November 28, 2023, at 6 pm PT. Ubisoft revealed that the update has been delayed. We have also listed some of the more common time zones below.

  • 10 am Brazil
  • 6.30 pm India
  • 5 am PT
  • 8 am ET
  • 1 pm GMT / UTC

Rainbow Six Siege Year 8 Season 4

New Operator

Season 4 is the final season for Rainbow Six siege Year 8. The new season is known as Operation Deep Freeze will see a new defender from Portugal - Tubarão.

New Map - Lair

There’s also a new map called Lair with Deep Freeze. The new map is based in Deimos' base of operations in Portugal, the same country that Tubarão is from.

"It has restricted access points from the air, the sea, and underground tunnels, making it both incredibly versatile and near impossible to assault on a larger scale. Its halls and rooms are a testament to Deimos’ methods, traditional and sophisticated, while the sprawling exterior speaks to his style, with an ominous beauty that is both fascinating and unnerving.

Ubisoft’s description sure has us excited for the new map. With many exits and corners, it seems to be a map where strategy will play a very important role in determining the round outcome. 

The map has three floors with each floor having a distinct theme. The map is coming to all Playlists in Rainbow Six Siege.

Operator Balancing

There will also be several balance changes to the existing operators. In a competitive game such as Rainbow Six Siege, the introduction of new elements is bound to impact the overall gameplay and strategy of the game. Here’s what is new in Operation Deep Freeze

MIRA

  • The bulletproof glass of Mira's Black Mirror can also be shattered if a projectile drills into it and explodes from the inside (Ash & Kali).

OSA

  • Replaced Smoke Grenades with Frag Grenades.

CAPITÃO

  • Add EMP Impact Grenade as a 3rd option.

LION

  • Replaced EMP Impact Grenades with Frag Grenades.
  • Removed the Gonne-6.

GRIM

  • Replaced Breach Charge with EMP Impact Grenades.
  • Removed the Breach Charge.

IQ

  • Added Frag Grenades.

BLACKBEARD

  • Replaced EMP Impact Grenades with Frag Grenades.

SENS

  • Added Frag Grenades.
  • Removed the Gonne-6.

MAESTRO

  • Drilling projectiles will shatter the bulletproof glass when exploding if they hit on the glass.
  • Increase active time to 6 seconds (from 5).
  • Increase cooldown time to 6 seconds (from 5).
  • Number of Evil Eyes increased to 3 (from 2).

Weapon Balancing

552 COMMANDO

  • Damage: 43hp (from 47)
  • Stronger vertical and horizontal recoil.

FRAG GRENADE

  • Removed the ability to cook the grenade.
  • Reduced the initial fuse time to 4 seconds (from 5).
  • Added the "Stun Grenade" cooking system, reducing the fuse time after the first bounce to 2 seconds.