The final boss, visa, did it again. Tundra is out of PGL Wallachia.

On May 6, and just four days before the start of PGL Wallachia Season 1, PGL announced Tundra Esports' disqualification from the tournament due to the team's failure to secure visas in time. PGL intended to replace Tundra with OG, who were the Western Europe (WEU) qualifier runner-ups.

However, OG declined the invitation as they already had other plans. Hence, the third place winner of the qualifier, MOUZ, will participate instead.

Tundra failed to secure visas despite multiple deadlines

Tundra Esports Pure at ESL One Birmingham 2024 (Image by ESL)
Tundra Esports Pure at ESL One Birmingham 2024 (Image by ESL)

As stated on the X post, PGL had given Tundra multiple deadlines to try to secure their visas. However, they were not able to do so by the final deadline of May 6. PGL Wallachia will be held in Bucharest, Romania, a country that has growing tensions with Russia.

It is likely that Tundra's two Russian players, Edgar "9Class" Naltakian and Ivan "Pure" Moskalenko, may be the ones who failed to obtain visas. Additionally, Matthew "Whitemon" Filemon seemed to have failed in securing his visa as well. With three out of five players already out, there was just no way for Tundra to continue with the tournament.

OG declined invitation to PGL Wallachia

As the runner-up of the Western Europe qualifier, OG were next in line for an invite to PGL Wallachia. However, they had declined the invitation not because of visa-related issues, but more of personal reasons.

OG clarified on X regarding their non-attendance at the tournament that the team "had planned other personal events and rest during this time," especially highlighting Adrián "Wisper" Dobles.

MOUZ to attend PGL Wallachia instead

With Tundra and OG out of PGL Wallachia, the WEU qualifier third place winner, MOUZ, will attend instead. Under the previous banner, mouseesports had an extensive history in competitive Dota. For MOUZ, however, PGL Wallachia will be their first Dota LAN and the roster is as follows:

  • Stefan "Ulnit" Gavrila
  • Ondřej "Supream^" Štarha
  • Nikko "Force" Bilocura
  • Ravdan "NARMAN" Narmandakh
  • Jonathan "Bengan" Hansson

Stick around for more Dota 2 news and updates.