The Halo franchise is vast, so allow us to put the games in order, for you to know what’s first in terms of release and in terms of lore.

Halo is one of the most iconic gaming franchises of all time. It has several games in its main series, where you play as Master Chief, but also many spin-offs that expand the lore of the Halo universe. So, we've put all of the Halo games together in order for you, both by release date and chronologically.

You'll know what games to play, and in what order, if you want to experience the entire story as the series unfolds. Or you might find a hidden gem in the release date list, if there's a spin-off that flew under your radar.

All Halo games in order of release

Halo: Combat Evolved game out over two decades ago and changed gaming forever (Image via Microsoft)
Halo: Combat Evolved game out over two decades ago and changed gaming forever (Image via Microsoft)

There are over a dozen games in the Halo franchise. There are the main entries we all know and love, along with some lesser-known, but still fun spin-offs. Here's each Halo game in order of its release date:

Release Date
Halo: Combat EvolvedNovember 15, 2001
Halo 2November 9, 2004
Halo 3September 25, 2007
Halo WarsFebruary 26, 2009
Halo 3: ODSTSeptember 22, 2009
Halo: ReachSeptember 14, 2010
Halo: Combat Evolved AnniversaryNovember 15, 2011
Halo 4November 6, 2012
Halo: Spartan AssaultJuly 18, 2013
Halo: The Master Chief CollectionNovember 11, 2014
Halo: Spartan StrikeApril 16, 2015
Halo 5: GuardiansOctober 27, 2015
Halo Wars 2February 21, 2017
Halo: Fireteam RavenMay 2018
Halo InfiniteDecember 8, 2021

All Halo games in chronological order

Halo Wars is the first game chronologically (Image via Microsoft)
Halo Wars is the first game chronologically (Image via Microsoft)

If you want to experience the Halo games in order of its lore, playing them chronologically is a great way. Of course, the likes of the Halo anniversary editions and the Master Chief Collection won't be here. Those focus on remasters and aren't new story entries.

Halo Wars2531Early years of the Human-Covenant War.
Halo: Reach2552Takes place in the weeks leading up to Halo: Combat Evolved.
Halo: Combat Evolved2552Discovery of the first Halo ring.
Halo: Fireteam Raven2552Takes place concurrently with Halo: Combat Evolved.
Halo 22552Continuation of Halo: Combat Evolved.
Halo 3: ODST2552During the events of Halo 2.
Halo 32552Resolution of the Human-Covenant war.
Halo: Spartan Assault2553-2554Following the Human-Covenant War.
Halo 42557A new saga with Master Chief. New threats and Covenant remnants.
Halo: Spartan Strike2558Contains current and past events.
Halo 5: Guardians2558Follows Master Chief, who has gone AWOL, and Spartan Locke.
Halo Wars 22559Set shortly after Halo 5.
Halo Infinite2560Continuation of Master Chief's story.

Stay tuned to for more esports news and Halo coverage.

Sign up to receive more Halo Infinite content from our weekly email

Create account
next article